Linux

I have been using Linux for almost past four years and I totally love it.  I believe it is one of the best OS.  Some of the reasons why I feel so are:

  1. Linux is very easy to install and requires no special technical knowledge.
  2. Linux is free and open source.
  3. There are thousands of contributors from all over the world who develop this OS, so when multiple people come up with new ideas and manage the code it actually improves the code a lot.
  4. Bugs can be fixed faster.
  5. Linux has the ability to migrate an installation from hardware to hardware.
  6. Linux can, and does, serve up anything and everything and does it easily and well. It’s fast, secure, easy to configure, and very scalable.
  7. Command line is crucial to serious administrative tasks
  8. There are IRC, mailing lists and forums to assist people.

This is a cheat sheet of Linux commands which I found useful http://linoxide.com/guide/linux-command-shelf.html

 

Leave a comment